Self- Imposed Sanctions

Is it possible for sports fan to give up college football?

Outback Bowl and Backing Out of College Football

If you are not one of my friends and family members who’s going to read this, let me introduce myself to you. My name is Jason and sports are a big part of my life. Growing up in the metro Detroit area, the Wings, Pistons, Tigers and Lions are key fabrics to the community and to the state of Michigan. However, what divides the state and city are the two major colleges of Michigan and Michigan State University. I supposedly choose to be the “little brother,” but haven’t experienced a loss since that and everyone in Spartan Nation is quick to mention this. This is what makes college football fun, however in the past few years, the fun is harder to find. So after this Outback Bowl, I am going to give up on college football for one year.

Now, after Michigan fans call me sour grapes about what happened to MSU with the BCS selection, I need to explain myself. One, it is sour grapes. Two, Michigan fans shouldn’t be happy with the recent selection that features the rematch. In 2006, Michigan and Ohio State played a close enough game in which one could make the case for their own rematch. Three, you are a Michigan fan, so you wouldn’t understand.

So I’m going enjoy a blooming onion and have a Foster’s and watch my last 2012 MSU game. Happy New Year!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Outback Bowl and Backing Out of College Football

  1. Ryan Ronan on said:

    Your right Michigans fans wouldnt understand becasue we grew up watching our team play in Rose Bowls and have winning streaks against “little brother” that are double the one you have now

Leave a Reply

